Benefit Air Patrol (Review)

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

When I first started doing my makeup, I never even considered using an eye primer. Actually, I didn’t do much in the way of shadow in the beginning at all, but once I started to regularly use it I realized fairly quickly that I have oily eyelids. Crease central up there!

For the past few years I have been using Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer ($21.00 for .41 oz ) and I thought it was great…until I started using the Benefit Cosmetics Air Patrol BB Cream Eyelid Primer  ($29.00 for .13 oz) – I purchased this in my Sephora Haul from a couple weeks ago. This eye primer is everything I never knew I needed and more! The Smashbox did a great job, I actually thought my eye shadow colors just naturally faded throughout the day and that having to use concealer with it to cover veins was normal. This was wrong.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The Benefit Air Patrol not only covers my veins and any discoloration, but it keeps my shadows pigment throughout the entire day. I work for 8 hours and sometimes I don’t take my makeup off for up to 12 hours, this stays through all of that! I’m so impressed by this because I didn’t even know what I was missing!

I have two negatives for this product. First, the price for the amount of product you get is horrid in comparison to the Smashbox one. I do think I use less product with the Benefit one, but it’s hard to tell with the packaging. The second negative I have for this product is just that, the packaging. I hate when items are clickers or twisters because I feel like I waste product and you never know how much is going to come out – or if you do one click and no product moves, so you click again and then it’s a fountain of primer. I’m not saying this has happened, but I’m so worried that it will! I usually only click it three times to avoid that happening, it recommends one click per eye which is plenty, if not too much for me. Despite these two cons, I  still recommend it. I’ll have to update you on the longevity of the product to see how long it actually lasts me.

 

***Tip**

If you have problems with foundation sticking to your nose, try putting an eye primer there and it holds like a dream!

 

Have you used the Benefit Air Patrol or Smashbox Shadow Primer? Do you recommend a different brand?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve always used the Urban Decay primer potion but I’ve been wanting to try this one! Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely worth it! Do you love the Urban Decay?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! The urban decay has always worked really well for me!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maybe I’ll have to check that original one out too! I had one of theirs, but it had a sheen/shimmery look so I tossed it.

        Like

  2. Great post! I’ve been struggling with trying to find a primer for my oily eyelids. I will definitely have to try this out. Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aren’t oily eyelids the worst? I just want my eyeshadow to last all day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

