Morning Skincare Routine

I originally wanted this post to be about my entire morning routine, but I haven’t quite perfected it, yet. I’m still working on my goals and waking up a tad earlier, so I don’t rush around. Something that isn’t a problem is my skincare routine. I have a strict routine and I never miss a cleanse on my skin or moisturizing!

As soon as I wake up, I let Grace outside and I get a glass of water and then it’s straight to skincare!

13712102_1054698197953758_1894856520_n1

Now I have problematic/combination skin – I do take medication for my acne, so that has definitely improved my skin, but I think these three products are a big part in the improvement too! Right now, I’m dealing with a lot of hyper-pigmentation and I’m more worried about fading that, than the actual acne – while I do still get an occasional spot, it’s always gone in a day.

Step one: Ole Henricksen Aloe Vera Deep Cleanser –  $24.00


BENEFITS – (Straight from OLE and I agree with everything besides the restoring skin part, it’s hard for a cleanser to promise that)

Aloe Vera: Moisturizes, calms and heals the skin
Chamomile Extract: Reduces inflammation, soothes and calms the skin
Comfrey Extract: Anti-inflammatory and astringent
Eucalypyus Oil: Prevents infection and oxygenates the skin
Vitamin E: Heals, restores and nourishes the skin

I start by wetting my face and working this into a lather. This cleanser is quite creamy, but so moisturizing because of the Aloe. It comes from the Ole Henricksen blemish/acne prone line – which I have used almost everything from the line, the only thing I don’t like is the Spot treatment (Save your money) – before I started with my medication I used to use their toner in the line too, but now it’s too drying for my skin with the Retin-A cream I use at night. So, I skip the toner step and go straight to a serum.

Step Two: Ole Henricksen Truth Serum Collagen Booster –  $48.00


BENEFITS ( I mostly see the brightening, restore and repair of the skin)

Grapefruit and Orange Extract: Purifying, astringent, brightening
Green Tea Extract: Protects against damage with antioxidants
Rosehips Extract: Repairs and strengthens with concentrated vitamin C
Sodium Hyaluronate: Binds moisture to the skin
Vitamin C: Calms, heals and strengthens collagen
Vitamin E: Heals, restores and nourishes

After my cleanser, I will pat my face dry with a bamboo towel then I will only do about half a pump because the full pump is wayy too much product ( I see you Ole, trying to get me to waste product and buy another $48.00 bottle) This feels so good on the skin, I usually let it “soak in” for about ten minutes – go let Grace back inside, get ready for the day and then I’m ready for moisturizer!

Step 3: Murad Acne Complex Skin Perfecting lotion – $38.00


Ulta says – helps blemish/prone skin stay clear, smooth and healthy by providing oil-free hydration. Retinol and queen of meadow extract reduce oil production, tone and tighten pores. Allantoin and arnica work together to calm skin and support healthy cell function for smoother looking skin. (Completely Agree, I’m all about calming the skin!)

Now, this is one of my favorite parts, I really love this lotion. It looks like a smaller tube, but you really don’t need a lot. I like this for my morning moisturizer because it’s light, but I still get the hydration I want – this oily girl will not produce even more oil because she hasn’t properly moisturized – ALWAYS MOISTURIZE! It sinks in perfectly after the serum and my skin feels amazing. I can’t recommend this enough! It’s also not too heavy before applying your makeup for the day.


Overall, sometimes I will switch out a serum here or there, but they mostly have the same benefits, I just like to try new things – I am on my second bottle of both the cleanser and the moisturizer and my skin hasn’t looked this good in years! Don’t worry I am making my $48.00 bottle of serum last as long as possible! I know some of these products are pricey, but I am willing to spend it because skincare is so important to me. I have been desperate to have clear skin for most of my life and these products are really helping me achieve that.

Have you tried these? What’s your morning skincare routine? Comment below 🙂


This was a photo of my skin from about two months ago – I’ll write an update in a couple months and let you know how things are improving. It’s already way better than this picture.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

