Makeup Alternatives

 

14052179_1138695749553799_1489673129_n(1)

Now I’m sure many of you makeup lovers out there have seen this Nivea Post Shave Balm. If not, this is a product that Nikkie Tutorials put on the map. She didn’t have a primer on hand, so she used her boyfriends post shave balm and the result is history.

After she introduced this product, every beauty blogger, Youtuber and influencer was testing this out to see if it worked. I also jumped on the bandwagon and I have to say that it does work. I’m not someone who uses a primer everyday because I don’t always think it’s necessary (cue the stone throwing.) Sometimes I just think it’s an extra layer that I don’t need, but when I do want to use a primer this is a great affordable option. I would compare it to the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer and while the Nivea Men Post Shave Balm retails at around $6.00, the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer in Light will run you $36.00 at Sephora.

And the real kicker is if the beauty community hadn’t increased sales of this product then Kylie Jenner was sure about to send it into backorder. A couple months ago she mentioned the Nivea Men Post Shave Balm in her Snapchat saying that she used the product for a moisturizer on her oily skin. I guess she’s not only a Jaclyn fan but a Nikkie one as well?

Okay.. Now that I’ve shared the obvious makeup alternative, I wanted to mention one that I use everyday. I bought the Murad Hydrating Toner around February and I hadn’t really gotten around to using it, well I ran out of my Makeup Setting Spray and decided I would just spray this and see if it would work. Well, it did.

13721147_1080257905403806_1220125773_n

 

This bottle of goodness is a great dupe for Mac’s Prep + Prime Fix+ or the Caudalie Beauty Elixir. And I realize when I say dupe that you are rolling your eyes at the $28.00 price tag. But for those $28.00 dollars in the Murad toner you are getting 6 oz of product, the Caudalie Beauty Elixir only gives you 3.4 oz for $49.00 dollars. ( Prep + Prime Fix+ will run you 23.00 for 3.4 oz)

And while I use this product to set my face, I don’t necessarily think that it keeps my foundation on longer, but it takes away that powder look much like Mac Fix+ and hydrates your face like Caudalie Beauty Elixir. It freshens your makeup and has a gorgeous scent. This product is great when you are using a matte foundation and want a little life back into your skin  or are worried it will dry your skin out through the day. The Murad Hydrating toner will not let that happen. I’m combination and I like to use this as a sort of defense against my skin, I hydrate it before my skin tries to produce more oil on it’s own thinking that it needs it – it’s really great for oily and dry skin. On my dry skin days, it helps me from going patchy throughout the day. So try this toner for a makeup setting spray and let me know if it works for you!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. thedailycare says:

    I thought I was the only one that felt that way about primer! Sometimes it’s nice to skip the primer because it doesn’t always seem necessary. Also, I’m surprised that toner works to set makeup! Who knew?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just don’t think primer is necessary everyday! And right!? It works like a charm!

      Like

Leave a Reply

